SNACKBAR on ICE

22 Dec

Saturday, December 19th 2009.

Biggest snowstorm to hit Philadelphia in years (I’m told). 16-20 inches of snow in Philadelphia. 1 out of 4 cabs running in the city and hustling a la Rick Ross  (I rode with 2 different other customers on my way there).

Around 5:30pm, @SNACKBAR253 tweets this: “Offering a complimentary 5 course tasting menu to anyone brave enough to sit outside tonight. Dress warmly, if you dare… 2155455655”

This is Snackbar we’re talking ’bout folks. Same spot that just received 3 Bells from LaBan here.

I read that as I was eating overcooked wheat Macaroni and frozen breaded shrimp… I put my fork down and thought to myself: F*ck this sh*t I’m eating in the snow tonight.

And this is where I ended up 2 hours later:

Prime Seating @SNACKBAR253

When I got there, a pair of brave souls (@jessecornell & @brievity) was already sipping on cocktails. So much for me thinking I was cool, badass and what not. I get seated by server extraordinaire Caleb with his trademark mustache and belt – this guy is the epitome of suave. I check the drink menu for something that’d help me fight the cold and order a Calvados.

First course comes out looking like this:

Apple-Turnip Soup w/ Foie Gras & Duck Confit

Mind-f*cking-blowing. Coats your tongue just right. The smokiness from the Duck and the Foie are just subtle enough and yet a whiff of the aroma was enough for me to forget about the freezing weather. This meal couldn’t have started better.

Grits, Smoked Paprika Tomato Sauce, Scallop, House Cured Lomo

Next up was this salmon-colored Scallop topped with Chef Taus’ housecured Lomo. The Smoked Paprika Tomato Sauce on the Grits was my favorite part. Great balance. Not gonna lie though, I had to eat this pretty fast before the dish turned into a sashimi.

Red Snapper, Rice, Bok Choy, Miso Beurre Blanc

I don’t even like Bok Choy like that but these Korean-chili-flakes (thanks @PhoodieCollin) gave them some welcomed heat. The Snapper’s skin was crisp and its flesh was cooked right on point. I enjoyed this dish. A lot.

Short Rib Sandwich with Onion Rings

Here’s why this tasting menu ordeal was great. While my right side neighbors chowed down on a Flatbread/Pizza with Chanterelle mushrooms and Poached Egg, I was given this tender Short Rib on Baguette served with (Au) Jus and Onion Rings. Unfortunately, it got really cold really fast and the Jus became a gelee. I even left 2 Onion Rings because they froze. Not taking anything from the kitchen here as this was a nice sandwich, but not on par with the previous dishes. My lucky neighbors (@jadiedoo and her bf Frank) to my left were served the Deconstructed Chicken Pot Pie that you have to know about to order since it’s off-menu.

Dark Hot Chocolate with White Chocolate Foam

It’s snowing, I can barely feel my toes, my napkin has frozen, my snifter is stuck to the table by the ice. What could be better than some Hot Chocolate right now? Actually some spiked hot chocolate would be… But no alcohol in this rich, thick, yet not too heavy Hot Chocolate. I’m pretty sure I felt Willy Wonka tap-dance in my mouth.

I finally made it through all 5 courses in the blizzard so I rush inside for a victory dance (more like me shivering and convulsing like crazy) and a 3rd Calvados.

Funny thing is throughout the meal, people took pictures and told us (sitting outside) things ranging from “You’re my heroes” to “You’re f*cking crazy yo”. Check out this bit from @phillyinsider here.

To summarize the night, it was a once in a lifetime dining experience (free + blizzard). The food, despite the weather, was excellent, as was the service. I certainly don’t regret sitting in 25 degrees weather for this meal. But I wouldn’t do it for just any meal either.

– Manneken Eats

One Response to “SNACKBAR on ICE”

  1. Joseph DePalma December 22, 2009 at 7:55 pm #

    I was totally gonna do this and heard no-one was going – booo. Glad someone got to do it!

Leave a comment